2019 HJ British Hairdresser of the Year, Robert Eaton

It’s the news you’ve all been waiting for. Announcing the HJ British Hairdressing Awards finalists for 2020.

The reveal comes fresh off the announcement that this year’s awards offering will now take place virtually (in light of COVID-19 event restrictions), for the first time in the competition’s illustrious 36-year history.

 “As the prospect of ‘live’ events continues to be shrouded with uncertainty, we have made the positive decision to keep to our date of Monday 30th November and in the style of the world’s biggest events in 2020, we shall hold the awards online,” says HJ’s executive director Jayne Lewis-Orr.

“With the British Hairdressing Awards being THE hairdressing event of the year, we feel strongly that it should go ahead and we are confident we can still celebrate together but in the 2020 way,” she continues.

Sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, HJ’s annual British Hairdressing Awards honour the best in British Hairdressing talent, celebrating exceptional creativity, skill and vision across the UK.

Round one of judging took place Monday 5th October inside ExCeL London, with judges attending in controlled time slots that allowed each to deliberate independently. Nominees for the coveted British Hairdresser of the Year award were announced earlier this year.

And the finalists are:



Paul Falltrick, GFC Hairdressing

Lisa Graham & Joseph I’Anson, Mark Leeson

Antonio Palladino, Antonio Giovanni Hairdressing

Callum Standen-May, STANDENMAY

Angelo Vallillo, DNA Art Space

Kai Wan, Pkai Hair


Nathan Armagnacq & Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Chadstone, Australia

Antoinette Beenders, Aveda, USA

Alexis Ferrer, Anna Ferrer, Spain

Shogo Ldeguchi, Fabric, Japan

Judith McEwen, TONI&GUY Perth Central, Australia

Alain Pereque, AP Education, Canada

Silas Tsang, Blushes, Canada


Jordanna Cobella, Cobella

Daniele De Angelis, TONI&GUY Shoreditch

Errol Douglas, Errol Douglas London

Danilo Giangreco, Danilo Hair Boutique

Anthony Grant, Linnaean Hair Salon

Andy Heasman, RUSH Hair Victoria


Royston Blythe, Royston Blythe

Tracey Devine-Smith, French & Ivi

Stephanie Gamble & Ashley Gamble, Ashley Gamble Salon

Michelle Griffin, Griffins

Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson

Nick Malenko, Royston Blythe

North Eastern

Ross Charles, Ross Charles

Sophie Gibson, Hooker + Young

Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts

Michelle Rooney, Hooker + Young

Emma Simmons, Salon 54

Jonathan Turner, Hooker + Young

Northern Ireland

Julie Cherry, Shane Bennett Salon

Zara Colhoun, Stafford Hair

Julian Dalrymple, Sittingroom @ The Hub

Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International

Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing

Nicola Murray, Nicola Murray Hair

North Western

John Claxton, Claxton Hair Co.

Stephanie Darbyshire, TONI&GUY Deansgate

Laura Kulik & Ria Kulik, The Hairbank

Marcello Moccia & Karen Perry, Room 97 Creative

Gary Taylor, Edward & Co

Melenie Tudor , En Route


Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International

David Corbett, David Corbett Hairdressing

Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Gary Hunter & Leslie Hunter, Frances Hunter Hairdressing

Kay McIntyre, McIntyres

Caroline Sanderson, Ego Hair Design


Seung-Ki Baek, RUSH Hair Epsom

David Baker & Ben Hendry, The Vault Hair & Spa

Thomas Hills, TH1 Hair

Altin Ismaili, Marc Antoni, Reading

Leonardo Rizzo, Sanrizz Guildford

Krysia West, Perfectly Posh Hair

Wales & South West

Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Salon

Ijan Davies Emrus, Ocean Hairdressing

Josh Goldsworthy, Goldsworthys

Martene Mallett & Alison Adams, MODE

Ken Picton, Ken Picton Salon

Karoliina Saunders, Karoliina Saunders Hair Design



Lathaniel Chambers, Lathaniel Couture Hair and Beauty

Anthony Grant, Linnaean Hair Salon

Aycan Kemal, New York Hair Design

Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts

Caroline Sanderson, Ego Hair Design

Anne Veck, Anne Veck

Darren Webster, Electric Space

Artistic Team

MODE Artistic Team

RUSH Artistic Team

TONI&GUY Artistic Team

Essensuals Artistic Team

DNA Art Space Artistic Team

Hooker + Young Artistic Team

Avant Garde

Seung-Ki Baek, RUSH Hair Epsom

Emmanuel Esteban, Salon Sloane

Brooke Evans, Be Ironbridge

Sylvestre Finold, Metropolis Hairdressing

William Gray & Bianca Gray, Grays International

Robert Masciave, Metropolis Hairdressing

Anne Veck, Anne Veck

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Clayde Baumann, D&J Ambrose

Paul Dennison, Ken Picton Salon

James Earnshaw, Hazel & Haydn

Suzanne McGill & Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International

Jo O’Neill, TONI&GUY Sloane Square

Chris Williams, RUSH Hair Chichester

Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Hooker + Young


Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Salon

Charlie Cullen, Joe & Co

Tracey Devine-Smith, French & Ivi

Andrea Giles & Terri Kay, Mark Leeson

Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Christian Wiles, Christian Wiles Hairdressing


Alessandro Barca, TONI&GUY Canary Wharf

Molly Drummond, Hooker + Young

Kate Drury, MODE

Sam Elliot, TONI&GUY, Covent Garden

Tori Ellis, KAM Hair and Body Spa

Lauren Killick, TH1 Hair

Trend Image

Sarah Black

Martin Crean, MODE

Ashley Gamble, Ashley Gamble Salon

Steven Goldsworthy, Goldsworthys

Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing

Darrel Starkey-Gettings, Taylors Hair Studio

Congratulations and good luck to all!

HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards will take place on Monday 30th November 2020. For a full list of North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year finalists visit :