The finalists for HJ 2020 British Hairdresser of the Year.

The news you’ve all been waiting for. Announcing the HJ British Hairdresser of the Year nominees for 2020.

Sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, HJ’s annual British Hairdressing Awards honour the best in British Hairdressing talent, celebrating exceptional creativity, skill and vision across the UK.

Back for another round of revelries, this year’s instalment brings a host of new faces (and creations) to the forefront, starting with the reveal of the ever-coveted British Hairdresser of the Year nominees.

For the first time in the competition’s illustrious history, an astounding 10 nominees have been named as finalists, thanks to the closest ever voting cluster recorded for the title.

Nominated by a handful of top-tier hairdressers, influences and both local and international media figures, finalists were selected based on their professional reputation, creative vision and ability to act as a pivotal ambassador for the British hairdressing industry.

“British hairdressing has certainly faced its greatest ever challenge this year,” starts Executive Director of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis Orr.

“It has been a testing time for us all and I have been so impressed with, but not surprised by, the industry’s continued professionalism, resilience and creativity.”

“The British Hairdresser of the Year title has been the most sought-after for more than three decades,” she continues. “This year especially, it is recognition of the stylists at the forefront of this thriving, talented and professional community.

“The award not only cements the careers of exceptional hairdressers but consistently raises standards across our industry year-on-year.” 

The winner will be announced on Monday 30th November 2020 at JW Marriott Grosvenor House, Park Lane, alongside the winners in six specialist categories and nine regional categories.

And the nominees are:

Adam Reed: Session stylist and salon owner, a colourful, skilful character bridging consumer and hairdressing worlds.

Angelo Seminara: Four times winner and one of the most captivating and original hair stylists of our time.

Cos Sakkas: Third time nominee, an artistic talent and a legend within Toni & Guy.

Darren Ambrose: Previous British Hairdresser of the Year winner 2015, a leader within session styling and hairdressing alike.

Errol Douglas, MBE: Honoured by Her Majesty the Queen for services to hairdressing, multiple award winner and hairdressing superstar.

Eugene Souleiman: Session stylist extraordinaire.

Gary Hooker and Michael Young, (Hooker & Young): 12th consecutive nomination of British Hairdressers of the Year and hairdressing’s most famous duo, stage-stars, creative inspiration and talented educators.

Richard Ashforth: First time nomination, well renowned in the hairdressing industry for his directional, forward thinking ideas, his belief in simplicity and commitment to beauty

Rob Eaton: Current British Hairdresser of the Year 2019 and one of the most current and renowned colourists of the moment.

Sally Brooks: Two times winner of British Hairdresser of the Year (2017 & 2018). A global stage and creative star, renowned hairdresser and a national hero following her hairdressing documentary that is reaching educationalists and parents across the UK.

Congratulations and good luck to all!

2019 HJ British Hairdresser of the Year, Robert Eaton

For more information, visit: