Australian Fashion Laureate: 2019 Winners
Model of the Year: Charlee Fraser
Matteau Co-Founder: Peta Heinsen
Guest Presenter: Sarah Ellen

IMG has revealed the 2019 Australian Fashion Laureate Winners.

Inside iconic dining venue Café Sydney, guests were treated to an exclusive celebratory luncheon honouring this year’s esteemed pool of finalists and winners respectively. The backdrop? Sydney’s exquisite harbour, no less.

A celebration of individuals who have made a significant contribution to Australia’s fashion industry, the tripartite initiative between IMG, the NSW Government and the Australian Fashion Council honours ongoing support of the industry’s growth on an international scale.

Touted as the pinnacle fashion industry honour, the titular ‘Australian Fashion Laureate’ award accompanies a host of industry-specific categories including awards for best womenswear, menswear, retail, accessories, emerging talent, model of the year and outstanding creative.

This year, the Laureate welcomed a new and timely category to its roster, namely the ‘Sustainable Innovation’ award, honouring brands that are successfully pioneering best practices, implementing long term strategic goals and/or demonstrating notable leadership in sustainability.

Winners were selected by a voting panel of more than 30 industry leaders (namely the Australian Fashion Industry Alumni) a group spanning a cross section of industry adjacent disciplines: from media, buyers, communications professionals, brand executives, creatives and designers.

“Today’s announcement[s] signals the culmination of another strong year for the Australian fashion industry [prividing] an opportunity to reflect on and celebrate our collective achievements in the company of esteemed peers,” said Natalie Xenita, Executive Director of IMG’s fashion events group for the Asia-Pacific region.

“The introduction of the Sustainable Innovation award category allows our industry to acknowledge the efforts and accomplishments of individuals and brands who are dedicated to lessening fashion’s impact on our environment, and to celebrate the most noteworthy innovations shaping our industry and its future.”

Minister for Tourism Stuart Ayres added, “It’s fantastic to see local champions go on to create a global impact and in turn be recognised through the Laureate. In the year ending August 2019 fashion sales generated $9.42 billion for NSW, and these events strengthen Sydney’s reputation as a premier destination for resort wear, fashion and retail.”

Congratulations to this years’ incredible winners and finalists alike!

Australian Fashion Laureate
Laura Brown

Best Australian Womenswear 
Lee Mathews

Best Australian Menswear 
Double Rainbouu

Best Australian Emerging Talent

Sustainable Innovation

Model of the Year
Charlee Fraser

Outstanding Creative
Jillian Davison

Best Australian Retailer

Best Australian Accessories 
Sarah and Sebastian